Top 10 DVDs – Part One

A few weeks ago, I shared a list of my favourite books with you, so this week I thought I would share a list of my favourite movies. As you will see, a few of the movies included in this list, were also mentioned in my top 10 books post but I thought I would still talk about them here, because I feel that they were almost perfect portayals of the books and this is something that I love the most about them. This list is in no particular order, as I found it quite difficult to pick a number one favourite. I have divided this list in to two seperate blog posts as it ended up being extremely long, so watch this space for part two ๐Ÿ™‚ Let’s get started!

Divergent Series

In my collection, I currently only own the first 2 movies from this series; Divergent and Insurgent. However, I did go and watch the third movie; Allegiant, a few months ago when it was in the theatre. I absolutely love this movie series, the action-packed scenes and the growing romance between Tris and Four are definitely the highlights for me. The first movie would have to be my favourite of the three, as I really enjoyed the unfolding story of Tris transitioning from the quiet, selfless life of Abnegation to the loud, courageous life of Dauntless. I found the storyline was very engaging and liked that it followed the order of the book perfectly.

I also thoroughly enjoyed the second movie as it also followed the order of the book and really displayed the development of Tris as a character and her growing bond with Four. However, as it was sequel and followed a similar to story to the first movie, I did find that in some sections, I started to get a bit bored. When I heard that they were releasing a third movie, I was beyond excited to see where the story would lead. As I had loved the first two movies in this series, I walked into the theatre expecting amazing things from the third installment and sadly, was met with nothing but confusion and disappointment.

I hadn’t quite had time to read the third book before the film was released but I thought that it would be okay, and I would understand it anyway, as the first two flowed perfectly with the corresponding books. But unfortunately, not a single thing made sense to me and I watched the whole thing with a look of confusion. I am about halfway through the Allegiant book at the moment but I’ve found that the movie didn’t really follow the book at all. I feel that because of all the changes that were made, the storyline got tangled and lost. I have heard that they are releasing a fourth installment to recover from the flop of Allegiant, so I am hoping that this one will be easier to follow.

IMG_20160523_132857

Hunger Games Series

As with my Divergent series collection, I currently do not own the last DVD for The Hunger Games but I did go to see it while it was in the theatre, so I am able to give my opinion on this one also. The first Hunger Games movie was released in 2012, however, I did not jump on the bandwagon and had refused to watch it up until 2015. I’m not entirely sure why I didn’t want to watch it, I just had it in my head that I was going to hate it and didn’t see the point in watching something I knew I wouldn’t like…and boy, was I wrong.

I bought the first 2 movies; The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, when I saw them on sale one day, and decided ‘why not?’ I sat down that night, and watched the first one with a little hesitation, but about 15 minutes into it, I was completely hooked. I ended up watching the second one that same night, and bought the third one; MockingJay Part One, the following week as I found they were such an amazing series. I loved the action-packed scenes as Katniss fights to live and the relationships between Katniss and Prim, Gale and Peeta. Although, I found a few scenes a little hard to watch due to the blood, strange creatures and dead bodies, I thoroughly enjoyed all three of these movies.

I was so excited to see the final installment of this series, and was expecting big things from MockingJay Part Two. As I was watching it, I found that I was really enjoying the storyline of the final movie, it was more action-packed than any of the first 3 but it was also more grusome. This film was also so much more emotional than its predecessors due to deaths of so many of my favourite characters, tears were definitely shed while watching this movie. I am so happy that this series ended with another great movie and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys movies that are action-packed.

IMG_20160523_132828

Letters To Juliet

This film is definitely one of my top three, as it is such a feel good movie and I love movies that contain alot of romance. Letters to Juliet is mostly set in the beautiful countryside of Italy, it is always sunny and warm and always makes me want to visit Italy. This movie follows the story of Sophie, a writer from New York who is on her pre-honeymoon with her fiancee Victor. She finds a letter in the wall of Juliets House that was written 50 years earlier and replies to it, sparking the beginning of a quest to find a man called Lorenzo for Clair, the woman who wrote the letter.

I love this movie as it takes you all over the beautiful towns of Italy in a quest to find true love and I really enjoyed the romance forming between Sophie and Charlie. Another thing I really liked about this film, is that fact that it stars Vanessa Redgrave as Clair, and as someone who grew up watching The Wind In The Willows, it’s so lovely to put a face to the voice and she really is perfect for the role. Amanda Seyfried has always been one of my favourite actresses and I feel like she is perfect for the bright and bubbly, lovestruck Sophie.

IMG_20160523_132533

Safe Haven

Another one of my absolute favourite movies is Safe Haven, I think I probably watch this movie almost once a month because I love it so much. I bought this DVD sometime last year immediately after I had read the book, as I loved it so much and was delighted to see that it had Julianne Hough as a lead role as she is definitely one of my favourite actresses. Julianne Hough and Josh Duhamel are perfect in their roles for Katie and Alex and they really make the chemistry seem real.

This movie follows the story of Katie as she escapes an abusive relationship and begins to make a new life for herself in the small beachside town of South Port in North Carolina. She meets Alex on her first day in South Port, when the bus she is travelling on makes a brief petrol stop, but Katie hops off as she feels that this is the perfect place for her to settle down. She begins working at Ivan’s Fish Shack and finds a cottage to rent in an isolated area of the town, where she meets a surprising neighbour called Jo. Although there are quite a few ups and downs in the budding romance between Katie and Alex, I really enjoy the scenes that they share, especially when they are having fun with Alex’s kids, Josh and Lexi.

I found that this movie really followed the storyline of the book and only made a few subtle changes that although were a bit strange to start with, really improved the story and helped to slightly set it apart from the book.

IMG_20160523_132344

Paper Towns

This movie is relatively new to my collection, but I knew that I would definitely be buying it after I found out that a movie was in the works. I think that Paper Towns is possibly my favourite book by John Green, so it was a no-brainer that I was going to love the movie, as I had already read and seen The Fault In Our Stars so I knew to expect incredible things. Cara Delevingne is perfect for the role of Margo and although she had to put on an American accent for the film, you would never know that it was not her natural accent.

The chemistry between Margo and Quentin (Nat Wolff) is incredible, which I think is due to the fact that they have known each other since they were kids, and although they grew apart as they got older, the one night that they reunite is like they never stopped being friends. This movie follows the story of a night of chaos between Margo and Q, that includes fish, blue spray paint and the top of the Sun Trust Building. This is the best night of Q’s life and he believes that maybe things are starting to looking up for him until the following day when Margo disappears, which sparks a lengthy quest for clues and hints as to where Margo is.

As the film develops and Q begins to dicepher the clues Margo left for him, he plans a roadtrip with his best friends Ben and Radar along with Lacey and Angela which turns out to be the perfect way to end their senior year. I was not disappointed in the slightest with how this movie turned out and I almost wish that there was a sequel, just so I can enjoy watching the chemistry between all the characters again, unfolding to create the best year of their lives.

IMG_20160523_132420

Have you seen any of these movies? Are any of them your favourites? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

