DIY Winter Warmers

Although Winter is drawing to a close here in New Zealand, the first few weeks of Spring are still quite chilly and in countries on the other side of the world, Autumn is only just beginning, which is why this felt like a good time to write about something that I recently discovered. I have seen plenty of these heat packs around, and absolutely love the designs you can buy them in and the amount of warmth they create but I never thought of making some specifically for my pockets to keep my hands toasty until they popped up on my Pinterest feed a few days ago. There are so many different ways to create these DIY heat pads, so get creative and lets get started! 🙂

You Will Need:

  • Fabric of your choice (I chose plaid as it felt quite Autumnal).
  • A Sewing Machine (or a needle and thread).
  • Rice
  • Scissors

What To Do:

  1. Cut the fabric into 5 inch by 5 inch squares or your desired size to fit into your pocket.
  2. Place the right side of 2 squares together and pin in place.
  3. Sew around the edges leaving a 1 inch opening on one side for the filling.
  4. Flip the heat pack inside out and fill 3/4 of it with uncooked rice.
  5. Sew the remaining fabric shut with a sewing machine or a needle and thread.

To Heat:

  • Place in a microwave for a minute or until the desired temperature. Be careful when removing the heating pad from the microwave as it will be very hot.

IMG_20160816_150027[1]

I really loved how this turned out, although I didn’t quite realise how hard it would be to photograph haha. I hope you enjoyed this DIY and your hands stay toasty and warm during the colder months! I would love to see how yours turn out 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

