DIY Halloween Headbands

Hello Everyone!

As there is less than 1 week until Halloween, I thought what better time to create a post dedicated to a few last minute costume ideas. Searching for a great costume last minute can be quite stressful, so I decided to make some headbands that are so simple to make, yet are so obvious as to what you are dressed up as without all the effort. If you are struggling to find a good costume for Halloween this year I hope this post helps you and I would love to see if you re-create these 🙂

Unicorn Headband

The first headband I chose to make is a unicorn. This one is the most difficult of the two but I was still able to complete it within a day. I would pair this headband with any clothing that is white or pink, add a sprinkle of glitter and channel your inner unicorn.

You Will Need:

  • A plastic headband
  • Paint of your choice
  • Superglue or hot glue
  • Felt (I used pink and white)
  • Wire
  • Polystyrene cone
  • Optional: Fake flowers

img_20161004_155952.jpg

What To Do:

  1. Paint your polystyrene cone in the colour of your choice. I used 2-3 coats to give it a solid colour.
  2. Carefully wind your wire around the cone to give it a swirled unicorn look.
  3. Apply a thin line of glue onto the top of your headband and hold the horn in place until it dries.
  4. Using a pen, draw an ear shape onto one sheet of your felt. Fold the fabric in half and cut out the shape, this should give you two identical ears.
  5. Repeat this step onto a different coloured sheet of felt, but make the shape slightly smaller.
  6. Glue the smaller ear pieces onto the front of the larger ones, and carefully glue the ears onto the headband, either side of the unicorn horn.
  7. If you would like, you can glue a few fake flowers onto the front of each ear. I tried to do this but my flowers were slightly to big, so make sure you use ones that are quite small.

img_20161024_164812.jpg

Bumblebee Headband

The second headband I chose to make is a bee, as my sister was trying to decide what to dress up as at the time, and asked if a bee costume would be easy to replicate. For the bee outfit, I would pair it with anything black and yellow and a pair of wings (I also made these myself) and you’re all set to go. 

You Will Need:

  • A plastic headband
  • Black pipecleaners
  • Yellow felt
  • Hot glue

img_20161024_164743.jpg

What To Do:

  1. The first step I did was to paint my headband black, but if you are fortunate enough to find a black one, you can skip this step.
  2. Twist together 2 or 3 black pipe cleaners. Repeat this step to create two antennae.
  3. Carefully draw a circle onto your yellow felt using a pen. Fold the felt in half and cut out to create two identical circles.
  4. Using one circle as a guide, cut out another 2 circles for the second antennae.
  5. Carefully glue around the edges of one circle, ensuring you leave a small gap and stick the second circle on top. Repeat this step with the leftover circles. I decided to stuff these slightly, to give them a bit more shape, but if you like how they look you can skip this part.
  6. Once you are happy with how your circles look, place one end of the pipecleaner inside the felt and glue together, ensuring the pipecleaner is stable. Repeat this step with the other antennae.
  7. Mark out where you would like the pipecleaners to sit on your headband and twist them around the headband until they are secure.

img_20161024_164559.jpg

I hope you enjoyed these DIY’s and don’t forget to tag me on instagram @ladydaisyblog with your recreations 🙂

Leave a Reply

