Homemade Gingerbread 

Hello Everyone!

I know that it is only November, but as I absolutely LOVE Christmas, I can’t resist making a few christmassy blog posts leading up to December. For this weeks post, I decided to write about one of my favourite treats to make during the festive season: Gingerbread! I love how delicious it smells while it is baking in the oven and the subtle hint of cinnamon and ginger really put me in the festive spirit. Another thing I love about gingerbread is how many different shapes you can create and how many different ways you can ice them. I chose to use white chocolate as I felt it was quite classic and I am so happy with how they turned out. Let’s get started!

You Will Need:

  • 75g light brown soft sugar
  • 2 tablespoons golden syrup
  • 1 tablespoon black treacle
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 95g block butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 225g plain flour, sifted

What To Do:

  1. Place a large saucepan over medium heat and gently stir in the sugar, golden syrup, treacle, water, cinnamon and ginger. Make sure to stir constantly so that the mixture doesn’t bubble.
  2. Add in your butter and continue to stir until it is completely melted. Mix in your baking soda and remove from the heat.
  3. Slowly fold in a few tablespoons of flour at a time until a thick dough has formed. Place in plastic wrap and leave it to chill for about 30mins.
  4. While your dough is chilling, preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius and line 2 baking trays.
  5. Flour a board and a rolling pin and gently roll your dough to about 3mm thick.
  6. Using your desired cookie cutters, cut out your gingerbread. I decided to use Christmas trees, little men and a few stars as I felt that they were quite festive.
  7. Place your dough cut outs onto the lined baking trays and place into the oven for 10 – 15 minutes until golden.
  8. Once your gingerbread is cooked, remove the cookies from the oven and place on a cooling rack to cool before icing them.

gb

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and would love to see your creations too! 🙂

You can find the original recipe here.

Leave a Reply

