DIY Tartan Bedding

Hello Everyone!

For the past few years around this time of year, I’ve really enjoyed switching up my bedding to make it slightly more festive for the holidays. Last year I decided to go with a reindeer print duvet and a grey fluffy blanket to make it quite neutral and cosy. This year I will be using the same duvet but as I’ve loved tartan quite alot over the past year, I really wanted to incorporate it into my festive bedding.

Tartan bedding is a huge trend right now and as much as I would love a brand new tartan duvet, I don’t feel that spending $150+ on new bedding is a good use for my money. So instead, I searched a few secondhand websites and found a great piece of tartan fabric for only $10 and decided I would attempt to make a few pillowcases and a throw blanket out of it. Let’s get started!

You Will Need:

  • Tartan Fabric (mine is 1.5m by 2m)
  • Scissors
  • A sewing machine or hot glue
  • A pillow insert
  • A measuring tape
  • Thread in a matching colour

What To Do:

  1. Measure the height and width of your pillow insert. Double the width + a few inches but keep the height as is. Cut a piece of fabric that matches these measurements.
  2. Lay your pillow insert on top of the fabric to check that the height measurement is correct.
  3. Fold your fabric in half and mark this line. Unfold your fabric with the right side facing up.
  4. Fold one edge of the fabric into the centre and pin into place. Carefully sew or glue along the top and bottom of the folded piece.
  5. Next, fold the other edge into the centre, but make sure to pull it a little bit further so that it is overlapping the first piece by about 2 inches. Pin into place and sew along the top and bottom of this piece.
  6. Carefully snip the corners off to prevent any bunching (don’t cut through the thread).
  7. Turn the pillow case inside out and place your pillow insert inside.
  8. For the deer pillows, I did exactly the same but with a satin fabric and cut out a deer head from the tartan scraps, and attached it to the front using fabric glue.

    For The Blanket:

    To make the blanket, I hemmed the two longer edges to stop them from fraying and using this tutorial, I added fringe to the two shorter edges and folded it in half to make a bright tartan throw for the end of my bed.

    I hope you enjoyed this DIY and I would love to see if you recreate either of them! 🙂

     

    Leave a Reply

    