Turkish Delight Cake

Hello Everyone!

Welcome to my first baking post of 2017! I am so excited to share this recipe with you today. I decided that I wanted to make my mums birthday cake this year and as her favourite chocolate is turkish delight, I really wanted to find a way to incorporate this into the cake. Although the only turkish delight I used was in the decoration, if you can find rosewater essence, you could use this in the buttercream if you would like to add a bit of extra turkish delight flavour. I wasn’t able to find any rosewater essence so I just used strawberry, and it still turned out delicious. Let’s get started!

IMG_7010.JPG

You Will Need:

  • 175g butter, softened
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup milk

For The Icing:

  • 4 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon strawberry essence
  • 2-3 teaspoons milk
  • 1 cup icing sugar

Extras:

  • 1 can chocolate frosting
  • Mini marshmallows
  • Turkish delight squares (cut diagonally)
  • 9″ round cake tin

What To Do:

  • Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius and line your cake tin.
  • Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs and vanilla and mix well after each addition.
  • Sift the flour, cocoa and baking powder into the mixture and mix until combined.
  • Add in the milk by quarters and mix well after addition addition.
  • Pour the mixture into your lined cake tin and place in the oven for 30 mins.
  • Once your cake is cooked, place onto a wire rack to cool.

At this point I decided to repeat this process as the cake had come out of the oven a little bit flat and I wanted it to have 2 decent sized layers. You can choose to either keep the single cake or repeat this process like I did.

  • When your cakes have cooled, prepare your butter cream icing by mixing all of your ingredients together until a smooth icing forms. This should make enough to have a slightly thick layer of icing spread between your cakes, to help them stick together.
  • After you have stacked your cakes together, carefully spread your chocolate frosting evenly over the entire cake. I like to keep my icing quite thick as I find it makes the cake a little bit more on the moist side.
  • Now is the fun part! Add on your chocolate turkish delight pieces and mini marshmallows in whichever pattern you would like. I decided to chop the mini marshmallows into quarters and sprinkle them on top as I found it helped to brighten up the cake a little bit.

img_7015

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and find the cake as delicious as I do! I would love to see all of your recreations so feel free to tag me on Instagram @ladydaisyblog 🙂

IMG_7010.JPG

Leave a Reply

