The Vampire Diaries

Hello Everyone!

For the last 7 years, The Vampire Diaries has been my favourite TV series to watch. When I discovered the series back in 2010, it was well into its second season and even though I had missed so many important scenes from the first season and things were a little hard to follow, I was instantly hooked. There was just something about the chemistry between the actors and the drama filled storylines packed into each 42 minute episode that really drew me in.

I became an avid watcher of the series, tuning in every Friday night no matter what time it was airing, even when it began airing around 11pm during the fourth season. Eventually I started watching it on TVNZ On Demand as it was express from the US and it meant that I didn’t have to wait 6 months for it to arrive on NZ television. I received all of the seasons on DVD every single Christmas and have watched them all at least 6 times since receiving the first one in 2010.

If you’ve never seen or heard of The Vampire Diaries, essentially it is about a girl called Elena, who is alive but feels dead inside as her parents didn’t survive a car accident a few months earlier. When she returns back to school, she meets a vampire called Stefan who is literally (un)dead and together, they make each other feel alive. However, Stefans’ older brother Damon also falls for Elena, creating a love triangle that carries on well into the series. The storylines also include Elenas’ brother Jeremy, her friends Matt, Bonnie, Tyler and Caroline and a large array of good and evil vampires from Stefan and Damons’ past.

As the years went on, the storylines got even more complex and even though a few seasons got a little bit boring, I still watched every single episode and there was always at least one scene that I loved in every episode. After 8 years full of mystical creatures such as witches, werewolves, ghosts, vampire hunters and many, many more, The Vampire Diaries finally reached its heartbreaking series finale last week.

When I found out that season 8 would be it’s last, I instantly wondered about how it would end. Would Bonnie have a happy ending? Who would Damon and Stefan end up with? Would past characters return for a final goodbye? Now, I’m not going to spoil anything here in case you do watch it and haven’t seen the final episode yet, but I will say that it is an emotional rollercoaster and you will definitely need a box of tissues nearby. I feel that they wrapped up the end of the series perfectly and although I am very sad to say goodbye to the series that has been a part of my life for the past 7 years, it really was the perfect way to say goodbye. 

There is no doubt in my mind that I will re-watch season 1-8 of The Vampire Diaries many, many times throughout my life, and I highly recommend that you give it a watch if you haven’t seen it, as you may end up loving it just as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

