Upcycle: Bomber Jacket

Hello Everyone!

It’s starting to get a lot colder here in New Zealand, and I am very sad about it. However, it means that I can create a never ending supply of joggers, jumpers and all things warm. I’m a little late to the bandwagon but I have really been loving the bomber jacket style lately. So much so, that I decided I would attempt to make my own and share it with you all in today’s blog post!

I headed down to my local fabric shop to see if I could find any suitable fabric to use, and unfortunately couldn’t find anything. So the next day I paid a visit to my local charity shop and had a look around for any jumpers or jackets that I could upcycle into my very own bomber. After about 20 minutes of looking around, I was about to give up when I noticed this really pretty, floral jumper hidden behind a few pink tshirts. Although it is not bomber material, I really loved the pattern as it was so bright and so I decided to just use a bomber jacket as inspiration and do my best with what I had. I really liked how it turned out and I hope this post will be of some help if you want to create your own. Let’s get started!

You Will Need:

  • A jumper that you want to upcycle
  • Lining fabric (I used fleece)
  • Ribbing fabric
  • Scissors
  • A sewing machine
  • Thread
  • Chalk
  • Pins
  • A zip or buttons

What To Do:

  • Try on your jumper to see if there are any places you may need to take it in (such as the sides or the arms). If there is, pin down these sections and use a sewing machine to sew a straight line down the fabric. Unpin and cut off the excess fabric.

  • Once you are happy with the fit, it is time to cut down the centre front of the jumper. Lay the jumper flat on a table or floor, find where the centre point is on the waist band and the collar and cut a straight line from these points.
  • Next, remove the collar and waist band from the fabric (with either scissors or an unpicker). Put these aside for later.

  • Lay out your lining fabric (I used an old sweatshirt for this) and using your jumper as a guide, draw around the body piece with chalk, making sure to tuck in the sleeves and draw around the natural curve of the armhole.
  • To copy the sleeve pieces fold a section of your fabric over and making sure the top of the sleeve is touching the fold, trace around the outside. When you get to the armhole, you can trace this by placing your finger on the seam, lifting the sleeve and placing a mark (repeat this four or five times until you have enough marks to draw up the seams). There are quite a few videos on YouTube that are very helpful for this.
  • Cut out your lining pieces, making sure to leave a 2 cm seam allowance around each piece.
  • Once all of your pieces have been cut out, make sure that you have cut down the centre of the front piece and with the right sides (fleece side) of the fabric facing each other, pin the shoulder pieces of the front and back together and sew along these lines.
  • Open up the pieces and lay them flat on the floor with the fleece facing down. Take your sleeve (fleece facing down). And starting at the shoulder, pin the pieces together and sew carefully along this line. Pin together the side seam and the sleeve and sew along this line, making sure to line up the underarm seams.

  • Attach the ribbing to the waistband, collar and cuffs of your outer jacket (there a quite a few helpful videos if you’re unsure how to do this), and carefully attach the lining to the outer jumper (I recommend you search up a few videos on this as it took me a few attempts).

  • Pin the zip into place and sew carefully with your sewing machine.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post and I would love to see your recreations 🙂

Leave a Reply

