The Next Step: Live

Hello Everyone!

I hope you are having a fantastic week so far, not too much longer until the weekend! For this weeks post I wanted to tell you about my experience seeing Disney’s The Next Step: Live last Friday night. I first watched this show early last year, and although I wasn’t too keen on it at first, before too long I was hooked. Yes, the target audience of this show is probably around ages 7-15 but there is just something the show that appeals to someone of my age.  If you haven’t heard of it, essentially it is a fiction documentary about a group of dancers at The Next Step dance studio in Canada who face everyday problems of being a teenager while also dancing in regional, national and even international dance competitions.

Although I am more than a few epsiodes behind on the show itself, I was so excited to hear that they were bringing the show to stages worldwide. I originally planned to get some tickets for my sister for her birthday but at $100+ for one ticket, we decided that the money would be best saved for another day. We were a little disappointed that we weren’t going as there were so many ads on TV showing how big of a performance it was going to be over the following few months, but we couldn’t really justify spending around $200 on a Disney show. So when the middle of April rolled around and we discovered that the tickets had dropped down to half price, we jumped at the chance to get our hands on some. And boy am I glad we did.

Even though there were a few mishaps on the way to the show ie. terrible weather, a late train and one of us sitting in grape juice (so thankful for black jeans), the show itself was incredible and if you ever have the chance to go to one yourself, I would highly suggest it. I wasn’t really sure what to expect as there are quite a few storylines on the show and not too much dancing nowadays but I assumed the show would be dance based, which it was but it had a surprising amount of comedy thrown into the mix. The performance itself was hosted by Disney’s Adam and Ash, who have an afternoon show in Australia and they did a few funny skits along with members of the cast which resulted in laughter around the whole theatre from people of all ages. As for the dancing, it was absolutely incredible. All of the dancers have so much talent and it was amazing to see that they are even more impressive in person.

Overall, I highly recommend going to see this show if you ever have the opportunity and I will not hesitate to go again if they ever find their way back to New Zealand.

Have you seen The Next Step: Live? What did you think of it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

