Breakfast Bread

Hello Everyone!

Firstly, I want to apologise for being a bit absent over the past few weeks. I was a little bit uninspired for awhile and couldn’t really think of anything to write a blog post about, but I have missed writing for you and am starting to feel inspired again, so hopefully I’ll be blogging more regularly 🙂

I was making a few loaves for my mum a few weeks ago and while looking through other bread recipes, I remembered this bread that my mum first made for me while I was in primary school and knew it would be great to make and share the recipe with you today. My sister and I always called it breakfast bread as we would have it primarily for breakfast, but the real name for it is oatmeal bread. I still call it breakfast bread to this day as the name sort of stuck. I’ve always loved to have this bread warm with jam and never really eat it any other way. Let’s get started!

You Will Need:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 14g dried yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water (extra)
  • 1/2 teaspoon caster sugar
  • 1/2 cup warm milk
  • 1 tablespoon soft brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 1/2 – 4 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats (extra)

What To Do:

  1. Line a loaf tin with baking paper and lightly grease with oil if needed.
  2. Combine oats and water in a small pan, stir over low heat until the water is absorbed and the oats are softened. Place in a large bowl and set aside until lukewarm.
  3. Dissolve the yeast in the warm water, add the caster sugar and leave aside for about 5 minutes. Add yeast, milk, brown sugar and salt to the oats. Stir well to combine.
  4. Add 3 1/2 cups of flour, 1 cup at a time, until a soft dough forms.
  5. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead for 10 minutes, adding remaining flour when neccessary, until the dough is smooth and elastic.
  6. Place the dough in a lightly oiled bowl and brush the surface with oil. Cover with plastic wrap and leave in a warm place for an hour or until well risen.
  7. Punch down the dough and knead for 1 minute. Divide into two and roll one portion into a rectangle. Roll up loosely and place into the tin.
  8. Divide the extra dough into 3 pieces and roll each into a sausage 30cm long. Plait and then brush with water.
  9. Sprinkle with extra oats and place into the tin.Cover with plastic wrap and leave in a warm place for 45 minutes or until well risen.
  10. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celcius.Place the dough into the oven and bake for 45 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. Set aside for 10 minutes before placing onto a wire rack to cool.

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and I would love to see how yours turns out if you decide to make it 🙂

Leave a Reply

