Spring Flowers

Hello Everyone!

A few weeks ago I decided that I wanted to have another go at growing flowers for Spring/Summer this year. I knew right away that one of the flowers I wanted to plant were sunflowers, as I feel these are one of the most summery looking flowers and I love their bright yellow petals. I wasn’t quite sure what other flowers I wanted to plant, so 2 weeks ago I headed out to one of my local garden centres and had a look through their seeds and flowers. They didn’t really have a large variety of flowers as it is still Winter in New Zealand, so I decided planting seeds would be the best way to go and headed inside to look at what they had on offer. I ended up choosing a packet of Everlasting Daisys’ and Enchinaceas’ as they are very bright and summery looking.

The following week I had agreed to meet one of my friends at the same garden centre for lunch in their cafe and after eating, I decided to have a wander around to look at their range of indoor plants. I have currently been clearing out a lot of my stuff and had an empty corner in the bedroom to fill, and felt that a plant would really brighten up the room for Spring. Originally I had planned to buy a miniature palm tree as I think these are really summery looking, however I immediately changed my mind after seeing the $200 price tag. After looking around for a further 10 minutes, I noticed a display of peace lilies and knew that it would be perfect, especially because it had a price tag of only $22. I love the contrast of the big, dark green leaves and the white lily (which is getting ready to open any day now!)

As we had a lovely sunny day on Saturday, I thought it was the perfect time to plant my seeds and set about prepping the soil and cleaning out plant pots. After planting the sunflower seeds, I decided that I wanted to get some proper flowers to plant and headed over to another garden centre and have a look at what they had instore. I found some bright yellow, blue and pink flowers and felt they would go perfectly with the sunflowers and other seeds once they grow. I am not sure what kind of flowers they are as the card just said ‘potted colour’ but I’ve bought them before and find that they are quite easy to grow. I decided to plant them in white plant pots as I really like the contrast between the colours.

I am very excited to see the flowers growing as we get into the warmer months and I’m sure I’ll post quite a few pictures of the sunflowers on here and on my Instagram @ladydaisyblog in the coming months, so make sure to keep your eye out.

What are your favourite Summer flowers? 🙂

Leave a Reply

